What do I look forward to at tonight’s Grammy Awards


55th-annual-grammy-awards-recap-0(Picture from: boiseweekly.com)

Tonight’s the night. The day I’ve been waiting for since 27th of January last year is here. February 8th 2015 – LL Cool J is getting ready to host (for the fourth time in a row) the 57th Annual Grammy Awards at the Staples Centre in Los Angeles.

Grammys are one of my favourite events and every year I find myself getting more and more excited and invested in it. So as there’s less than 24 hours to go, lets take the last peek at what to expect. At first – the performances.

Who will be performing anway? This year’s performes list is colorful and maybe the best I’ve seen in recent years.
Madonna will take the stage with a song from her new album “Rebel Heart”. The album famously leaked a while back, but is set to its official release in March. As it’s Madonna I have high hopes anyway, but as it’s Madonna’s first performance after the album leak I’m pretty sure she’ll let that performance be her statement, so I’m confident she will not dissapoint.
Another performance I am really looking forward to is Jessie J and Tom Jones’. These two definitely belong to the best UK musicians club and how can you not be excited to be able to see one of the leading pop starts of last year duetting with a legend himself? Also, Sir Jones was a delightful client and left a generous tip when I served him a simple Cafe Latte last year. So there’s also that. Call it favoritism if you like.
Ed Sheeran continues to be high on my list aswell and it’s less than two weeks to go until he takes the stage right here in my home country – Estonia. Seriously though, it’s never been that hard to get tickets to a concert here. Anyway … as much as I admire the guy I do not understand how he ended up in performances as confusing as tonight’s. He’ll be with Herbie Hancock, John Mayer and Questlove in one and with Electric Light Orchestra and Sia with another. I have no idea what to expect from the first one, so I better stay quiet on that one. The second one sounds good, surprising as hell, but good, so I’m optimistic about that one. Will we see Sia’s face? Probably not, so it’s also exciting to wait and see how she’ll hide it this time. Let’s admit it, she always has crazy good ideas.
Who else? Adam Levine with, yes – with Gwen Stefani. As much as I love them both I’m afraid they’ll performance will be the time I’ll go for a toilet break. And probably also a snack break. The song is not bad, I’ve listened to it for a few times actually, but it’s nothing special in my eyes and when I heard that they were collaborating I hoped for something way more spectacular. I’m always ready to eat my own words though.
There are rumors that Kanye West will take the stage from a never heard before song from his upcoming album. Man is being real kind with his new material lately – me likey. Is it going to be something you wouldn’t quite expect from Kanye in the beginning of a new album cycle like “Only one” and “FourFiveSeconds” or is it going to be more like “Niggas in Paris” Kanye? West continuing to be an unpredictable, surprising and developing artist after being in the industry for so long is what always makes me look forward to his new music and performances and this alone is quite a good motivation to get up in the middle of the night.
Kanye will also take the stage with Sir Paul McCartney and Rihanna to perform the song I wrote an entire post about – “FourFiveSeconds”. Just like I said a week or two ago – cannot wait to hear Rihanna’s amazing vocals on this song live.
Sam Smith. Two names that hold so much talent I had to take a big breath before I continued. He’s nominated for six (SIX!) awards tonight so I’m sure it’s not just the performance with Mary J. Blige that makes him need a cup of good old calming chamomile tea before the show. Even though I’ve seen videos of them singing “Stay With Me” together before I expect nothing but grandiosity, grandeur and tears of joy from their duet and there’s noone else than Sam to blame.
Another big one will probably be Beyonce with Common and John Legend. They’ll perform “Take my Hand, Precious Lord” and “Glory”, so I can already see the white, sparkly silver, diamonds and the holy light around Beyonce making my eyes wet.
Last, but not least – Katy Perry will be performing her super personal song “By The Grace Of God” and apparently she will sing it with an aspiring singer-songwriter who has previously suffer from domestic abuse. Just a week ago Katy had the whole world looking at her when she performed at the most viewed Superbowl half-time show ever and now, I’m pretty sure, she’ll leave us in awe with a beautiful duet, that will show her vulnerable and generous side. That song is very close to my heart, so that probably makes it the most looked forward to performance for me tonight.

Okay, I don’t want this post to take so much time to read that you’ll miss the show, so I better start wrapping it up. Besides the genius’ I talked about above there are more genius’ who’ll perform tonight. Ariana Grande (and the cat ears), Lady Gaga with Tony Bennett, AC/DC, Eric Church, Beck with Chris Martin, Juanes (he’s back!), Pharrell Williams, Usher (ugh), Miranda Lambert (what would Grammys be without a classic country performance) and Hozier with Annie Lennox all will take the stage, so there’s loads to be excited for. So, let’s try to keep ourselves super busy during the day (no lazy Sunday!) so that time would fly by and it will be time for the biggest award show in music industry in the blink of an eye.

Take care,
L.

Leave a comment